Translations for our friends around the world.

New URL: www.Schwerpunkt.Games



Click image to go to main site  www.Schwerpunkt.Games

Author Topic: Problems with the screen resolution  (Read 3378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Reckall

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • New member
Problems with the screen resolution
« on: August 06, 2019, 01:20:29 PM »
I have WWII-E v.11 installed on Windows 7 running on a MacBook Pro via WMVare Fusion.

The screen resolution, thanks to the Retina Display, is 1440x900. However, when I launch WWII-E I get an error message: the screen must be set at a minimum of 1024x768.

I'm running other games on the same setup and resolution (like TOAW4 or John Tiller's Panzer Campaigns) and they work just fine. I never had the problem I'm encountering here.

Suggestions?

Offline schwerpt

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 155
  • Schwerpunkt Games Developer
    • Schwerpunkt
Re: Problems with the screen resolution
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2019, 03:22:17 AM »
Interesting.  My games do not send a message like that.  We regularly run the games at higher resolutions than that.
Can you tell what software displayed that message?

Thanks,
Ron

Offline Reckall

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • New member
Re: Problems with the screen resolution
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2019, 01:18:07 PM »
The software displaying that error is WW II in Europe version 11. I solved the problem by upping the screen resolution to 1920x1200. Now the program runs normally.

Remember that I’m running it on a MacBook Pro with Retina display, under a Windows 7 emulator. I think that it is a problem of scaling. Maybe at 1440x900 the program “believes” that Windows is running under a much lower resolution (lower that the minimum requirement of 1024x768), whereas at 1920x1200 the minimum requisite is satisfied.

Anyway, I solved the problem and I’m fine. I hope that my experience will help other people playing the game under a Windows emulator.

Offline schwerpt

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 155
  • Schwerpunkt Games Developer
    • Schwerpunkt
Re: Problems with the screen resolution
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2019, 04:34:03 AM »
Now it makes sense to me.  There is a minimum resolution needed.  Not often triggered, so I forgot about it. 
Glad you figured it out, and shared with others.

Thanks,
Ron

 

Choppers spawning over water have problems in multiplayer

Started by RotarBoard Support / F.A.Q.

Replies: 0
Views: 1505
Last post November 29, 2015, 09:02:27 PM
by Rotar
Site problems?

Started by AdminBoard General Discussion

Replies: 1
Views: 1424
Last post March 14, 2016, 04:13:03 PM
by Admin
Problems joining mp?

Started by AsidBoard Multiplayer games & AAR's

Replies: 0
Views: 1736
Last post November 29, 2016, 09:02:54 PM
by Asid
Arma 3 x64 Problems and How to solve it.

Started by AttilaBoard ArmA

Replies: 3
Views: 2712
Last post March 18, 2017, 03:38:50 PM
by Asid
Tacview 1.5.4 - problems with add Static Objects

Started by astrauss66Board Tacview

Replies: 1
Views: 2346
Last post March 27, 2017, 02:32:48 PM
by Vyrtuoz