Translations for our friends around the world.

Author Topic: PC Hardware for Flight Simulation  (Read 7300 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beef

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • Bellum Simulatis
PC Hardware for Flight Simulation
« on: September 16, 2017, 07:09:33 PM »
Thought I would start a thread where we could discuss and share information about hardware used in flight simulation, such as throttle and stick systems, etc.. I recently came across a press release from snakebyte group about Bravo Throttle Quadrant, which is a follow on to the Alpha Flight Control. Read more about these two systems here at Fly Honeycomb. Each is expected to retail for $199.99 which seems a fair price.



funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Asid

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 23841
Re: PC Hardware for Flight Simulation
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2017, 07:39:21 PM »
Great idea Beef.

A good set of controls can make all the difference to fun/immersion. I have used a few pieces of hardware I purchased a while back and they transformed the experience. It is hard to describe the difference a yoke makes but it does make a big difference.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

I stand against Racism, Bigotry and Bullying

Offline Frankie

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 1433
  • From Dogs of War to Pipes Of Peace
    • Frankie's Moodurian
Re: PC Hardware for Flight Simulation
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2018, 02:37:38 PM »
Modifying Microsoft Flight Simulator 4 to run on three immersive monitors
From: http://www.tinmith.net/wayne/blog/2017/06/immersive-flight-sim-4.htm


With the three large displays, you get an incredibly immersive experience, and you can easily look out the left and right windows. You can "feel" the aircraft as it rolls around, it is really awesome.

Immersive X-Plane 11 Flight Simulator
http://www.tinmith.net/wayne/blog/2017/01/immersive-flight-simulator.htm


Hardware used:
  • three 42" LCD displays arranged around the pilot to cover a 270 degree field of view
  • proper yoke
  • pedals
  • throttle
  • Intel i7 PC with a Nvidia GTX 660

The whole system is being run by the Commodore 64 machine in the background.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

After the Dogs of War are let slip, let us smoke the Pipes Of Peace.

Offline Beef

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • Bellum Simulatis
Re: PC Hardware for Flight Simulation
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2018, 09:15:07 PM »
"The whole system is being run by the Commodore 64 machine in the background."

Really? X-Plane 11 runs on a C64?
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Rinix

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 2251
  • Steel Beasts
Re: PC Hardware for Flight Simulation
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2018, 12:15:02 AM »
"The whole system is being run by the Commodore 64 machine in the background."

Really? X-Plane 11 runs on a C64?
I think he meant to say that the C64 is involved in switching between access to different PCs.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
I ride inside Steel Beasts.

Offline Frankie

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 1433
  • From Dogs of War to Pipes Of Peace
    • Frankie's Moodurian
Re: PC Hardware for Flight Simulation
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2018, 12:16:01 PM »
Haha, I just said that deadpan and off the cuff as a joke.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

After the Dogs of War are let slip, let us smoke the Pipes Of Peace.

Tags:
     

    Nice demo of using hardware to input commands.

    Started by FrankieBoard General Discussion

    Replies: 0
    Views: 2002
    Last post February 23, 2015, 09:10:32 PM
    by Frankie
    Specialised hardware

    Started by FrankieBoard Steel Beasts Pro

    Replies: 23
    Views: 6714
    Last post June 16, 2015, 01:30:53 AM
    by Frankie
    ArmA3 and TS3 Server planned shutdown for hardware service

    Started by AttilaBoard ArmA

    Replies: 0
    Views: 2153
    Last post October 21, 2015, 07:41:33 PM
    by Attila
    Update ArmA3 and TS3 Server planned shutdown for hardware service

    Started by wilso845Board ArmA

    Replies: 0
    Views: 1943
    Last post October 23, 2015, 05:30:50 PM
    by wilso845
    How to configure the TrackIR hardware with VBS3?

    Started by AsidBoard Virtual Battlespace (V.B.S.)

    Replies: 0
    Views: 1862
    Last post December 10, 2015, 11:01:35 PM
    by Asid