Translations for our friends around the world.

Author Topic: CMANO - Making Tactical Decision Aids - The Lua Gag Reel Ep1: By JC  (Read 3167 times)

Offline Asid

• HAVOC

Monday, September 18, 2017
By: JC
CMANO - Making Tactical Decision Aids - The Lua Gag Reel Episode 1

In my previous entry, I praised WarfareSims for their farsighted decision to extend the CMANO's base code with the wide capabilities, simplicity and memory management benefits of the Lua scripting language.

I deeply appreciate the interest that many of you have expressed for knowing how I did put together my tactical decision aid, but I have to confess that I dread that you will be disappointed. I'm no programmer, and I grabbed pieces of code from here and there to put together this Frankenstein project. I apologize in advance, as you may see improper coding techniques and some inconsistencies in the logic of my entire scenario.

Without further ado, here is what I did.

If you remember from my previous post, the sequence of events was:

1.   The scenario starts
   1.   A counter is initialized. This counter keeps track of a series recursive ship vs sub simulation runs
   2.   Units are added to the scenario
       1.   The US warship is placed in the center and give a course due south, at flank speed
       2.   A DPRK sub is placed 50 miles from the US ship and given a patrol area delineated by the reference points above
   3.   If the US warship remains undetected and reaches an escape area south of the DPRK patrol's area
      1.   All units are deleted
      2.   The counter mentioned in 1.1 is advanced
      3.   New units are generated
         1.   A US warship is placed in the center and give a course due south, at flank speed