Translations for our friends around the world.

Scourge Of War




Author Topic: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode  (Read 9620 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • New member
How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« on: November 20, 2016, 08:14:03 PM »
I went into Options.. changed to custom and then did the "2" for distance. But I go in battle and if I right click somewhere in the distance, it seems like just the commands for a division come up. If I select one say line or whatever, the General still just sits there.

What am I missing here?
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Tuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2016, 08:26:16 PM »
oops.. nevermind.. I see you do in Game Options and then choose HITS move distance..  ???
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Biondo

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1201
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2016, 10:01:11 PM »
Hello Tuna, to play HITS with camera distance set at 2 you need to activate my HITS mod.

http://www.norbsoftdev.net/forum/waterloo-modifications/73929-hits-mod

If you find difficult to see the green arrow you can activate the New Pointer mod

http://www.norbsoftdev.net/forum/waterloo-modifications/73930-new-pointer-mod
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Tuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2016, 10:41:16 PM »
Yep, already using the Pointer Mod.. I think I've got it now. Just need to get good a directing at this level. The immersion level is great though!
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline chrisreb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2016, 08:24:10 PM »
Like you I am finding it impossible to control my commander properly.  I think you know the direction you are facing as you can see his head and hat.  I can only move him by pressing 1 for example to make him move forward and then halting him. Then pressing a wheel command then 1 etc to move again.

I must be doing something badly wrong as by the time I have got the general back from in front of his brigade and facing the right way to get an overview the battle is half over.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Asid

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 26335
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2016, 09:46:54 PM »
How do you guys have your HITS setup?
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

I stand against Racism, Bigotry and Bullying

Offline Biondo

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1201
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2016, 02:13:17 AM »
Usually I set 1 just to have the possibility to make my general stop hitting the space bar and walking/running hitting shift key.

All the other movements via right click. I don't find useful the HITS move because every time you have to change direction you have to stop, understand where your general is facing, make the adjustment and resume the march.

To move the camera I mapped a specific button on my mouse.

Some tips:

When you are far from the enemy (usually at the beginning of the battle) move via the Command Map (N key). It open the map, left click on the destination and all the troops under the commander you have selected starts to move to that point. They move directly to the destination so if there are rivers or woods to cross it's better to click on Use Roads button to avoid your troops becoming fatigued.

Once you are in enemy vicinity use mouse on the terrain. Take your time to set well the camera to click just in the center of your view.
Right click and drag to set the destination of your general. To have more control when you are dragging, move the mouse a bit far from where you first right click. Once you are happy with your facing you can select a formation.
All the troops under the selected general take their position automatically.

Once the troops are deployed and you feel they are still not facing as you want, wheel only your general (I find useful using dot and comma on the keyboard to do this) and select again the formation. All the troops make a wheel movement to match the new facing of you general.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline chrisreb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2016, 06:46:46 AM »
Thanks for the tips guys!

However I keep getting a CTD every time I choose one of the advanced formations. The Mods I have working are just the ones you have listed.

I choose formation from the toolbar and then something in the more detailed formations and it immediately crashes.

To be honest I don't think I am going to be able to get this working to do anything online with the CTD. Probably best uninstall all the mods and just do occasional play as normal as something on my system does not like this.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2016, 09:01:49 AM by chrisreb »
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Biondo

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1201
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2016, 09:48:30 AM »
Hello chrisreb, are you playing the tutorial with the mods activated? Because that could be the problem. If so try a sandbox battle.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline chrisreb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2016, 10:12:31 AM »
Hello chrisreb, are you playing the tutorial with the mods activated? Because that could be the problem. If so try a sandbox battle.

I was trying a French Waterloo Brigade scenario.  Is there some restriction on what you can use the mods on then?

If so do you know what works with what?
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Biondo

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1201
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2016, 10:19:36 AM »
Yes, also with Waterloo scenarios you can have problems using mods.

To learn the basics of the game I suggest to play sandbox battles.

If you want to play Waterloo scenarios using grog toolbar or others mods you have to play them via users scenario but I have to check if they are there, now I don't remember well.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline chrisreb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2016, 10:50:24 AM »
Ok so not just me then. Will try via the User made variants I think I did
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Asid

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 26335
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2016, 12:49:08 PM »
This is your CTD issue Chris.

You do not need the mods to start learning HITS. However it is not an issue. I believe you have installed the Expanded Toolbar V - Grog. This is NOT compatible with stock scenarios if you select the stock scenarios through the menu. The only way to play the stock and other scenarios is if they are setup through "sandbox" or "user scenarios". The  Expanded Toolbar V - Grog includes the stock scenarios. They appear if you activate the toolbar then go to "user scenarios". They are there. They will work.

There is a relationship between the toolbar and the OOBS. MYGUI (the interface software) complicates this. A little reading would tell you this. If you have an issue then you should go to the main page of the mod. I have included links to original posts for all mods if they exist. However I see I need to be more robust in my approach. For the toolbar this is what it displayed on the page in red: Attention: All SP scenarios played with this mod must be selected through the 'User Scenarios' screen, otherwise they will CTD.

http://www.norbsoftdev.net/forum/waterloo-modifications/68686-expanded-toolbar-grog

Max Camera Distance from You This setting adjusts the distance
the camera may be moved from the commander you are playing. Set the value to “10,” the lowest
setting, to lock the camera to
you (called “HITS,” or “Headquarters in the Saddle”).


HITS Move (p57)
“Hits Move” makes it possible for a player playing HITS to
move his commander using keyboard commands. (“Headquarters
in the Saddle,” is the ultimate “you are there” playing style.
When a player is playing HITS, the camera follows the player’s
commander: the camera may pivot and look about, but it may
not move away.) “HITS Move” can be enabled only from the
In Game Options Screen. From the main game screen, click on
Menu, the Options. On the right side, set the HITS Move slider
to a number, this number represents the number of yards that the
player will move unless halted. Here are the commands available
in this mode:
W: Move the player forward.
S: Make the player do an about-face.
A: Change the player’s facing counter-clockwise.
D: Change the player’s facing clockwise.
Left shift: Double-time the player’s movement.
Space: Halt the player.
To disable HITS Move, open the In Game Options screen
and set the distance back to zero.
NOTE: For players who have not edited keyboard.csv,
camera control is restricted to mouse movement when
HITS Move is activated, since the WSAD keys may not be
used for camera movement.

At this point, you do not need mods. Just set the "Max Camera Distance from You" to a high value. Say 40 then work you way down to 10. You may have difficulty with the default pointer as it is awkward to see. If this is the case then use the "New pointer mod" http://dogsofwarvu.com/forum/index.php/topic,3577.0.html.

HITS lost some of its refinement when it went from GB to Waterloo.

Please read the manual. Some reading of important posts is required. It will help a lot. When you have read then have at it. Practice, practice, practice...
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

I stand against Racism, Bigotry and Bullying

Offline chrisreb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • New member
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2016, 01:05:22 PM »
Thanks Asid for all this.

I had read most of this stuff and the Game Manual but was confused with what was compatible with what. I had for some reason thought the latest Toolbar version had solved the previous CTD issues - my mistake. Also some keystrokes did not seem to be having the documented effect. Still I will keep going

I am practising currently in a sandbox game and whilst having issues with my learning it has not CTD.  I must remember to use the versions of stock scenarios that I have copied over to the User scenarios when the mods are enabled.

Presently trying to consistently get units to behave as I want when moving as a brigade. As you say lots of practice over the next few weeks
« Last Edit: November 22, 2016, 01:08:01 PM by chrisreb »
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Asid

  • HAVOC
  • *
  • Posts: 26335
Re: How do you make the General Move in HITS mode
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2016, 01:47:40 PM »
Hits post: http://dogsofwarvu.com/forum/index.php/topic,3688.new.html#new

Also practice with a Brigade first.
funny
0
informative
0
Thanks
0
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

I stand against Racism, Bigotry and Bullying

Tags:
     

    Orientation for SOW HITS

    Started by Asid

    Replies: 0
    Views: 2780
    Last post November 22, 2016, 06:12:08 PM
    by Asid
    General metting on the battlefield

    Started by Fabian

    Replies: 6
    Views: 4004
    Last post August 01, 2017, 05:45:08 PM
    by Asid