Translations for our friends around the world.

Author Topic: TX Talk  (Read 4659 times)

Offline Longknife

TX Talk
« on: September 02, 2016, 04:56:56 PM »
Lets talk transmitters!

I thought a new thread would be good to make the forum more search friendly.

I got into my RC stuff a few evenings ago & I have an old (new in 2000) Futaba 7ch PCM heli radio with 10 model memory. It is programmable but the interface is about as user friendly as DOS. As I was tinkering with it I realized I don't have the foggiest recollection of how to program it. The manual is still in the hard case but given how much electronics have progressed in the last 15yrs I am sure there are much better options on the market that probably cost allot less than I paid for this.

So for a semi experienced self taught helo pilot what would be a good transmitter to consider?
funny
informative
Thanks
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

Offline Asid

• HAVOC
Re: TX Talk
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2016, 06:10:01 PM »
I can update this post later when I have more time.

So quickly. Things have changed quite a lot. 2 obvious things are:

1. Flybarless controllers (FBL)
2. 2.4GHZ Radio equipment.

The FBL controllers do most if not all of the mixing within their unit. Leaving the TX to do basic functions. You no longer need a "fancy" tx for rc helis with lots of mixing etc. The FBL controllers can be programmed via tx, PC or the unit itself (buttons on-board). This depends on the individual unit.

2.4GHZ Radios
Gone are the days of needing a tx & rx crystal. Also depending on the TX/manufacturer you can get a type of "model match". This is basically where the TX recognises the specific rx. No more turning on the tx and rx and noticing to late that you have the wrong model selected in the TX.

Some new players to the scene
•   Spektrum
•   Tranis
•   Orange
•   Jeti
To name a few.

Also electric is now viable for helos.